Message from the IMS Technical Program Chair

Symposium, held outside the North American Continent for the first time. The Technical Program Committee consisting of 232 reviewers worked very hard to provide you with the best possible technical program. Out of a near-record number of 1069 submitted papers, 381 were selected for oral presentation, and 142 for the Interactive Forum (IF). This year, we rearranged the IF into four two-hour sessions so that the IF presenters have more flexibility to attend oral sessions. There are five Focused and four Special Sessions organized by Kevin Kobayashi and his team. One Special Session pays tribute to the late Leo Young organized by Robert Trew and another Special Session is dedicated to the memory of the late K. C. Gupta, organized by Inder Bahl and Madhu Gupta. Panel Sessions organized by John Cowles and his team occur during lunchtime as usual. We have clarified the rules for the Student Paper Competition and expect it to run smoothly thanks to Ryan Miyamoto's efforts.

Thanks to the efforts of K. C. Gupta before his untimely passing, we are introducing Short Courses for the first time in recent IMS history. Our Workshop Chair Yi-Chi Shih and his committee organized 47 Advanced- and Tutorial-level Workshops. Both Short Courses and Workshops are distributed on Sunday, Monday, and Friday. Events with a strong electromagnetic-field flavor are scheduled on Friday for the convenience of those attending the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Symposium, to be held in Honolulu the week following IMS.

I would like to thank many individuals for making this event possible. First are the two TPC Vice Chairs, Olga Boric-Lubecke and Ethan Wang, and TPC Administrator, Cynthia Hang. Thanks go to Jeff Pond, Jonathan Hacker, and Roger Pollard for Electronic Paper Management. Thank you Larry Whicker for administration and guidance and Dave Rutledge for conducting a paper-sorting party. A tremendous amount of guidance was provided by Roger Pollard, Paul Khanna, Mike DeLisio, and Wayne Shiroma. I am indebted to the dedicated effort of a number of volunteers from Hawaii and the Continental U.S., mainly Southern California.

Finally, I should note that this symposium would not have been possible without the dedicated efforts of the authors of the technical papers submitted for the symposium and workshops. It is hoped that you will enjoy the technical depth and breadth of the program during Microwave Week in Honolulu.



Tatsuo Itoh Chair, IMS 2007 Technical Program Committee