# **IEEE MTT-S Awards**

## **Microwave Career Award**

This award recognizes an individual for a career of meritorious achievement and outstanding technical contribution in the field of microwave theory and techniques. This year's recipient is Robert J. Wenzel.

"For a career of leadership, meritorious achievement, creativity, and outstanding contributions in the fields of microwave theory and techniques."

## **Distinguished Service Award**

This award recognizes significant contributions and outstanding service to the MTT-S and the microwave profession over a sustained period of time. This year's recipient is Lawrence R. Whicker.

"For his outstanding and dedicated service to the Society."

## **Distinguished Educator Award**

This award was inspired by the untimely death of Prof. F.J. Rosenbaum (1937–1992), an outstanding teacher of microwave science and a dedicated AdCom Member and contributor. The award recognizes a distinguished educator in the field of microwave engineering and science who best exemplifies the special human qualities of Fred Rosenbaum who considered teaching a high calling and demonstrated his dedication to the Society through tireless service. This year's recipients are Les Besser and Kai Chang.

"For outstanding achievements as an educator, mentor, and role model of microwave engineers and engineering students."

## **Microwave Pioneer Award**

This award recognizes an individual or a team not exceeding three persons having made outstanding pioneering technical contributions that advance microwave theory and techniques, described in an archival paper published at least 20 years prior to the year of the award. This year's recipients are the team of Alan Sokal and Nathan Sokal.

"For development of the Class-E power amplifier."

#### **Microwave Application Award**

This award recognizes an individual or team for out-

standing application of microwave theory and techniques. This year's recipient is Robert Weigel.

"For the development of ultrahigh frequency microwave acoustic devices for wireless communication and sensing."

## **Outstanding Young Engineer Award**

This award recognizes MTT-S members, who have distinguished themselves through technical achievements, service to the MTT-S, or a combination of both. Nominees must not have reached their 39th birthday and must be an MTT-S member at the time of nomination. This year's recipients are Christophe Caloz and Vesna Radisic.

Christophe Caloz: "For pioneering contributions to the development of novel concepts and applications of electromagnetic metamaterials."

Vesna Radisic: "For leadership in the field of microwave applications of defected ground structures, active antennas, and millimeter-wave electronics."

### **N. Walter Cox Award**

This award was established in recognition of the qualities of N. Walter Cox and his service to the MTT-S prior to his untimely death in 1988. It is given to a Society volunteer whose efforts on behalf of MTT-S best exemplify Walter's spirit and dedication. This year's recipient is Jenshan Lin.

"For exemplary service, given in a spirit of selfless dedication and cooperation."

#### **Microwave Prize**

This award recognizes on an annual basis the most significant contribution by a published paper within the MTT-S's field of interest. Papers under consideration are those published during the calendar year preceding the Fall Meeting of the AdCom. This year's recipients are Thomas Lüthi and Christian Mätzler.

"For their paper, 'Stereoscopic Passive Millimeter-Wave Imaging and Ranging,' IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques, MTT-53, pp. 2594-2599 (2005)."

The member grade of Fellow is conferred in recognition conferred automatically on nomination — only a fracof unusual and outstanding professional distinction. It tion of those nominated are elected. Sixteen MTT-S is awarded at the initiative of the IEEE Board of Di- members who were evaluated by our Society were rectors following a rigorous nomination and evaluation elected to the grade of Fellow, effective 1 January 2007. process. Individuals receiving this distinction have demonstrated extraordinary contributions to one or In addition, seventeen other MTT-S members were more fields of electrical engineering, electronics, comelected to the grade of Fellow in 2007 after their qualputer engineering, or related sciences. This grade is not ifications were evaluated by other IEEE societies.

Edward Ackerman	For contributions to the optimization of analog optical links
Fadhel Ghannouchi	For contributions to advanced microway amplification circuits and subsystems
Giovanni Ghione	For contributions to numerical physics based modeling of passive and active integrated microwave components
Ramesh K. Gupta	For contributions to monolithic m crowave integrated circuits
Stefan Heinen	For contributions to radio frequency integrated circuits and wireless systems
Ian Hunter	For contributions to theory and design or microwave filters
Charles Jackson	For leadership in the development of high temperature superconductor microway devices, quasi-optical techniques, and mi limeter-wave subsystems
William Jemison	For contributions to microwave photonic for radar and communications
Bumman Kim	For contributions to linear power ampl fiers, gallium arsenide microwave and mi limeter-wave power devices, an monolithic microwave integrated circuit
Dalma Novak	For contributions to enabling technologie for the implementation of fiber radio systems
Hiroyo Ogawa	For contributions to microwave and mi limeter-wave technology
Aaron Oki	For technical innovation in advancing ga lium arsenide and indium phosphide m croelectronics technology
Abbas Omar	For contributions to techniques for the analysis of microwave structures
Jose Pedro	For contributions to nonlinear distortion analysis of microwave devices and circuit
Jan Verspecht	For contributions to the area of large-signal microwave measurements
John Wood	For contributions to the nonlinear m crowave device and behavioral modelin and technology

## **IEEE Fellows**



of For contributions to short pulse electro-Robert Fontana magnetics as applied to ultra-wideband (AES) ive systems For contributions to active electromag-Barry Chambers (AP) netic materials and structures cse-For contributions to computational elec-Atef Elsherbeni tromagnetics, antenna and microwave ap-(AP) niplications Robert Nevels For contributions to electromagnetic field te-(AP) theory for quantum mechanics For contributions to microstrip and planar Kin-Lu Wong of (AP) antenna designs For contributions to simulation and mod-·h-Kenneth Kundert eling of analog radio frequency and mixed (CAS) ive signal circuits i1\_ For contributions to modeling and simu-Jose Schutt-Aine lation of distributed circuits with applica-(CPMT) ics tions to signal integrity For contributions to the physics and tech-Clark Nguyen linology of microelectromechanical systems (ED) Jayasimha Prasad For contributions to compound semiconnd (ED) ductor heterojunction bipolar transistors For contributions to optoelectronics and Yan-Kuin Su ies (ED)nanophotonics research and education zs-Alan Sahakian For contributions to electrophysiology of atrial cardiac arrhythmias (EMB) il-Flavio Canavero For contributions to the modeling of cir-(EMC) cuit and electronic interconnects For contributions in electromagnetic inni-James Drewniak terference coupling paths and numerical (EMC) modeling for compatibility design he Antonio Orlandi For contributions to high-speed digital (EMC) systems on Andrew Podgorski For contributions to broadband immunity its (EMC) and compatibility certification For contributions to remote sensing image Kun-Shan Chen (GRS) and signal processing ni-Abdullah Atalar For contributions to acoustic and atomic ng, (UFFC) force microscopy